What I’ve learned in 3000 miles

I bought my motorcycle in late February, and began riding in March. Since then I’ve managed to put over 3000 miles on it and am having a ball. I have yet to get a speeding ticket or dump the bike, but I’m realizing that its time to take less chances and slow down a bit.

These are a few things I’ve learned:

A lot of people ride with shorts, sandals, and a t-shirt. Yes, its been very hot and its very tempting, but I try to wear my jacket with protection, long pants, gloves and a helmet every time. (I’ve been wearing sneakers lately but am buying shoes that are a compromise called Kickers, made by Shift)

People have asked me if I am hot in all that gear. So far I haven’t smacked anyone or even screamed at them, but  even a fall out of a coffee shop with beachwear could be a bloody mess so fuck em.

I’ve had several close calls with people pulling out in front of me so now I do a few things I didn’t do before. I look both ways at lights and wait a second rather than try to beat the turning cars.  I try to slow down approaching blind curves just in case. And when I do play Evel Knievel and go 80 or 90 miles per hour, I pick the roads carefully.

I was watching a young couple practice in a park the other day and suddenly the girl fell. Turns out they had just come from The Motorcycle Safety course and wanted to get in some practice. She was riding a very old, very large Honda and got overconfident. She was just shaken up but I hope they paid more attention on the second day.

Really its a matter of riding within your ability and recognizing the risk. If you are crazy enough to speed past 3 Harley’s doing 80……uh, never mind that. Yes, its dangerous. Unlike a car you are not belted in, have no big shatterproof windshield, and are riding on 2 very small tires. A sudden stop for a dog in the road or an asshole cutting across lanes at even 55 mph can be fatal.

But do I let the threat of permanent disfigurement, paralysis, broken bones, or brain injury stop me from enjoying a fantastic sport? NO! There are many things in life that are dangerous and most can be made safer with training and awareness.

AGATT!

AGATT!

One thought on “What I’ve learned in 3000 miles

Leave a Comment

