Don’t Be A Pussy

I put on long cotton underwear, socks, jeans, an old gray sweatshirt, boots, a heavy jacket and no makeup. This may not sound like a thrilling outfit to you, but I went out to ride my motorcycle for the first time in about two months.

She started right up, we went out for about an hour and it was fantastic. But I spent quite a while deciding if I should put it off for another day.

I was worried that the gas might have gone bad, the battery might be dead, there might be too much ice and snow on the roads, and several other things that might go wrong. As foolish as I knew these things were, for some reason it seemed like a big hassle and something to avoid dealing with today.

But a little voice inside my head said something that really helped. It said: “DON’T BE A PUSSY-GET ON THAT BIKE AND GO FOR A RIDE!”

There will always be reasons to put off doing what you really want to do, real reasons and imaginary reasons. As Ted Simon once said about motorcycle travel: “I am learning that it is remarkably easy to do things, and much more frightening to contemplate them.” This is true of everything from going on a diet to going across the world on a Triumph Tiger 100.

I didn’t bring my camera today because I was too busy arguing with myself, so here is a photo I took back in June 2013. Yes, that is a motorcycle pussy.

Motorcycle Pussy guarding my Suzuki DR 650

Motorcycle Pussy guarding my Suzuki DR 650

4 thoughts on “Don’t Be A Pussy

  1. Last weekend was the first one this year when the motorcycles were everywhere here!. They will be out again Sunday.

Leave a Comment

