Book Review-The Practice of Contemplative Photography

I picked up this book for myself while gift shopping last week and finally finished it this morning. Basically the idea is to slow down…..slow…..way…..down…..and create something special.

So I had a friend over and we contemplated what to photograph, where, the light, background, depth of field, exposure, aperture, and color. Then we contemplated lunch.

We decided on Chinese food, specifically chicken, and contemplated the menu. Orange Chicken, General Tso’s Chicken, String Bean Chicken Breast, Kung Pao Chicken, Mushroom Chicken, Black Pepper Chicken or Grilled Teriyaki Chicken.

Many hours later I got around to photographing some roses in a contemplative way and realized something important. Patience may be a virtue but its easier said than done. I think this is the point of the book but I may have skipped over that part.

The Practice of Contemplative Photography is really an excellent book and I highly recommend it. Great photos, very well written and much more food for thought than the usual technical advice.

Next I will contemplate my mind like a beginner. Because in the beginner’s mind there are many possibilities, but in the expert’s there are few. Contemplate that!

Contemplative Photography Test

Contemplative Photography Test

2 thoughts on “Book Review-The Practice of Contemplative Photography

  1. I will think about it.
    I have taken photography classes. Love it. If I had the time I would take up painting, but for now I have to be satisfied with my next photo

    • I have several books on photography, Photoshop and Lightroom. Better to go out there and make mistakes. Same with software. After a few years and 100,000 shots or so you get a good feel for it.

Leave a Comment

